Building Your Business
Revision of ISO 9001

10 November 2015

ISO 9001 Quality Management Systems

On Wednesday 23 September, the revisions to the ISO 9001 standard were updated from the 2008 version to 2015.  The Standard is more attuned to ‘managing risk’, and also aims to make ISO 9001:2015 more compatible with other Management Systems. Certified organisations have three years to upgrade from the 2008 standard to 2015. 


ISO 9001 Quality Management Systems, the world's leading quality management standard, has recently been revised.

Why was ISO 9001 revised?

All ISO standards are reviewed every five years to establish if a revision is required to keep it current and relevant for the marketplace. TISO 9001:2015 is designed to respond to the latest trends and be compatible with other management systems such as ISO 14001.

The timeline is below. Learn more about the process of standard development.


What are the main changes to the standard?

The new version follows a new, higher level structure to make it easier to use in conjunction with other management system standards, with increased importance given to risk. More information about the changes can be found in the news area.

I am certified to ISO 9001:2008. What does this mean for me?

Organisations are granted a three-year transition period after the revision has been published to migrate their quality management system to the new edition of the standard.

How do I find out more?

More detailed information about the revision and ISO 9001 can be found on the Technical Committee page.

  • Cavan
  • Louth
  • Meath
  • Monaghon